Thursday, 12 December 2013

Xia, Shang and Zhou Dynasties

Compiled from The Great Chinese Emperors

  • The Xia Dynasty (2070-1600 BC, having 16 emperors over 400 years)
  • The Shang Dynasty (1600-1066 BC, having 31 emperors over 600 years)
  • Western Zhou Dynasty (1046-771 BC, having 13 emperors over 285 years)

2070 BC
Yu inherited the throne from Shun. Following Yu’s death, his son, Qi acceded to the throne, starting the hereditary system and founding China’s first dynasty – the Xia Dynasty.

1600 BC
Tang launched a punitive campaign against Emperor Jie of Xia and the Xia Dynasty gave way to the Shang Dynasty.

1300 BC
Emperor Pangeng relocated the capital of Shang to Yin.

1046 BC
The Battle of Muye broke out in which Emperor Wu overthrew the Shang regime and ushered in the Western Zhou Dynasty.

1042 BC
Emperor Cheng inherited the throne with Duke Zhou acting as his regent; rebellion of Duke Zhou’s three brothers.

1035 BC
Duke Zhou returned the state power to Emperor Cheng and passed away in the same year.
965 BC – 961 BC
Emperor Mu of Zhou travelled to West China.

841 BC
Emperor Li of Zhou provoked a widespread rebellion with his tyrannical rule. Duke Zhouding and Duke Zhaomu joined forces and ruled the state, known as ‘joint administration through peace and harmony.’

771 BC
Marquis Shen united with Quanrong for an attack on the capital of Haojing. Emperor You of Zhou was killed, spelling the end of the Western Zhou era.

No comments:

Post a Comment